National Honor Society is a national organization that honors students who excel in academics, character, leadership, and service. NHS has high standards for membership and the vetting process is extremely competitive.

All juniors and seniors who have been at LCA for at least one year and have a cumulative GPA of 3.5 or higher are invited to apply for membership in NHS. All applicants must meet the deadlines for material submission. An NHS selection committee, made up of teachers, will make final decisions on applicants for membership. Because of NHS guidelines, all qualified candidates will not necessarily be chosen for membership.  Each year, all NHS members must complete ten hours of community service and volunteer to help at one school-related event.